The cleverest man on earth.

There’s this guy: Grigory Perelman. He is called the cleverest man on earth because apparently he is a super genius.  He used to be a college professor in the U.S. but these days, he’s living as a recluse with his mother in St. Petersburg.

Just recently, this super smart guy solved one of the world’s most complicated math problems. But what’s so interesting about him is that he refuses to accept any recognition. He has been offered a million dollars and a prestigious medal, but he has declined, saying “I have all I want”.

Apparently he has declined recognition before when, in 2006, he was offered the Fields Medal, the highest mathematics honor. He tells the press, “I don’t want to be on display like an animal in a zoo. I’m not a hero of mathematics. I’m not even that successful; that is why I don’t want to have everybody looking at me.”

It’s a rare occurrence that a man wouldn’t want fame or fortune. I suppose Grigory is entitled to his privacy, and it isn’t really fair that the world is beating down his door just because he got a math problem right.

All the same, I hope he accepts the money.The poor guy could probably use it. Or at least his momma could. For goodness sake, she’s still cooking for him after all these years. Sheesh. Anyway. If nothing else, he could give it to someone else. It’s a shame that a man so brilliant wouldn’t be given credit.

That’s what I think anyway.

One thought on “The cleverest man on earth.

Leave a Reply

