The best couple ever.

Y’all probably assume I’m about to talk about my fave celebrity couple. I’m not going to lie, I thought about it. But I found a couple way more deserving of my attention than any fashionable famous people who pay 700 dollars for shoes and 800 dollars for sushi. Although if I were writing about that, Drew Barrymore and Justin Long are probably my celeb couple of choice right now. And I’m totally rooting for Jennifer Aniston and Gerard Butler.

But no. My favorite couple is two people that live normal lives. They hold hands and eat home cooked meals and watch tv.  In fact, they even have a twitter account (which I’m following).

My favorite couple is Herbert and Zelmyra Fisher. Sure they are a lovely couple. But what is so lovely about them is that they have been married for 86 years. No joke. 86 years.

Herbert and Zelmyra hold the world record for the longest marriage. He’s 104, she’s 101.

They attribute their magnificent marital success to their faith in God. Really, that’s all there is to it.  Two people met, fell in love, and put Him first. Now they have celebrated 86 years of wedded happiness.

Spring always gets people thinking about love for whatever reason. It’s probably all the loveliness that the weather emits. Maybe its just in the air, you know?

Whatever it is, people love to get into relationships during Spring. I love to watch it really. New couples are so cute. They haven’t yet hit their first fight, and all they can do is stare googly-eyed into each other’s eyes.

What I love to watch even more though, is a couple who has stood the test of time. Married couples who have been together a long time. And by a long time, I don’t mean five years. I mean 10, 20, 30+ years. These couples really know what’s up. They know each others faults. And it makes their love even that much more beautiful.

I pray often that God will someday give me that. I know He will. I’m excited really. I love love. I love the idea that someday I’m going to love someone amazing.

I hope it lasts 87 years. Because I want my love to make history. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The best couple ever.

  1. Girl, I love your blog! I started reading it a month or so ago and every post has been good, which is awesome! I love love too and I really love what you said about how you want your love to make history…..awesome. I love it! You sure do have a way with words! Keep on blogging!! I will most definitely keep on reading!!
    -Dena

Leave a Reply

