I am that kid.

I had an epiphany. A “eureka” of sorts. See, a very good friend of mine (I’m talking about you Sterling. You’re the best.) said something that really spoke to where I’m at right now. He said this:

One day I will be 50 years old, have a wife, kids, and a brand new world to deal with. But for now, I’m basically that kid. I have friends, go to college, have a Facebook and an iPhone, and can relax knowing that all I have to do is make sure I don’t fail that test coming up next week. Plus I have rims ;). Keep the perspective.

It’s true, you know. We, or in this case I, spend so much time worrying about how my future will turn out. I think about what I will do when I graduate, who I will marry, how my kids will turn out, what kind of ministry I’ll be doing… It’s not important right now. Yes, I want to have a secure future in God’s will, but I really need to just focus on the time I have to be a kid.

I need to be hanging out with my friends and being care free and not even thinking about getting serious. I don’t have forever to be this kid.

I want to use this time to be as amazing as I can be. I want to love and be loved with all the fervor of youth. I want to smile brighter, sing louder, and laugh more often than I ever have before. I can’t wait for everything God has in store for me years down the road. But man oh man… I can’t wait for tomorrow either.

The future is bright. The present is brighter. Keep the perspective. πŸ™‚

I love you all.

One thought on “I am that kid.

Leave a Reply

