With Reckless Abandon.

I’ve been doing some soul searching lately, and for a few reasons. I want to find out who I really want to be, what I really want out of life, etc. Because like, I’m getting ready to graduate soon. And when I’m not all, “NO MORE HOMEWORKS LOL” I’m like… “Real life. Woah.” So the thing to do in a time like this is to read Song of Solomon, amirite??? Actually I sort of just stumbled upon it, and since I’m pretty caught up on the whole subject of love these days, I want to share a little gem I found between a description of this poor woman’s towering neck and sheep-teeth.

Place me like a seal over your heart,
like a seal on your arm;
for love is as strong as death,
its jealousy unyielding as the grave.
It burns like blazing fire,
like a mighty flame.
Many waters cannot quench love;
rivers cannot sweep it away.
If one were to give
all the wealth of one’s house for love,
it would be utterly scorned.

This couple of verses is in chapter 8, and it is the woman is making this impassioned plea to her beloved. The thing that I can’t help but see here is that this woman is so incredibly taken with him, that she is making herself 100% vulnerable to him. She is telling him that she is irreversibly gone for him, as it were. And she asks him to set her “as a seal” upon his heart, so that her place with him could never fade or be taken. Now here’s what I have to say about that:

This woman be cray-cray. (that’s crazy, for those of you who aren’t thugs like me)

This woman is being completely forward. She be putting all her eggs in one basket and counting them chickens way before they be hatched. She is begging him to commit because she has “love as strong as death” Woah girl. It’s like every article from girl magazines that says “PLEASE GIRLS DON’T DO THIS OR GUYS WILL LITERALLY BE TERRIFIED OF YOU”.

But. The cool, amazing, incredible thing, is that this woman, who loves without reserve, who begs for commitment and basically says “I’m it, bro, hope you like it” has chosen to love a man who really does reciprocate that level of affection. It’s one of those relationships that therapists and rational people assume will experience some form of burn-out and eventually end in deep pain and heartache. And most of the time, they’re right. But sometimes, a beautiful thing happens that happened for this woman: She found someone she could really trust. Someone who loved her with all of the reckless abandon with which she loved him. God brought her a pure, amazing love that she could put herself completely into.

See, most of this book is just her, praising her love. And when he does respond, its like 99% just him telling her she’s beautiful. But what she does say, 3 times actually, that is more important than anything else said in this entire book, is a simple admonition to her friends:

Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you: Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires.

Because she knows that this precious gift she has been given is so incredible that if taken at the wrong time, or with the wrong person, it can be detrimental to the one taking it. She understands that this amazing thing she has been trusted with, can do irreparable damage to hearts and lives.

So I guess that what I’m saying here, is that this woman knows what’s up. She may seem crazy. But she knows that she is putting her trust in something worthy to be trusted. And she knows that she has waited and been patient long enough that it’s the right time to enjoy the bounty of their pleasure. Maybe I’m just gibbering because I just really love a good love story, but I so hope and pray that when the time is right, I will have the opportunity to love someone with that reckless abandon. To trust and and admire and adore and desire someone so deeply that keeping from getting hurt isn’t even on my mind anymore. And I believe I will.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

