To be thankful.

I want to share a thing I saw today. Besides a surly group of 10-13 year olds.  Today as I was getting my lunch, thinking about all that I have to do today and things of that nature, I took notice to the homeless man standing on the corner of the intersection asking for help. I see him every now and again, always standing on the same corner. He has a marvelous beard and an impressive collection of Black Sabbath t-shirts. Today what was interesting to me though was that a young kid came up and gave him a paper bag (presumably with food in it). The kid just handed it to him and walked away. Then, the homeless man thanked the kid, gave the bag to the woman sitting on the ground next to him, and clasped his hands together, looked at the sky, and said thank you. He thanked God for the sustenance he had just received, and it was totally genuine. It made me think… how often do I do that?

thankful

Now I know that all good little Christian boys and girls say grace before eating. “God is great, God is good, let us thank Him for our food…” Right. But how long has it been since we actually stopped what we were doing and gave thanks to our creator? When is the last time we considered all of the great things He has done for us and understood how miraculous they are?

We should really stop and think about all He has done and offer him gratitude. It’s the least we can do.

That is all.

Leave a Reply

